Google
 

Re: Hijacked domain

From: Urb LeJeune <urb_at_e-government.com>
Date: Tue 25 Oct 2005 09:55:50 -0500

>Does anyone know how to stop this and how to make sure the domain is not
>blacklisted?

         There are two consideration. The first is that someone has hacked your
system and is sending spam through your mailserver. The second is that
someone is sending spam using your domain name in the From: field.

         The second is of no concern because the professional Black List
companies look at the mailserver IP address and not the contents of the
From: field.

         The first is very serious and will result in you being
blacklisted. If
your mail program supports it look at all of your headers from a message
that used your domain in the From: field. It should start with something
like the following.

Received from how.longtontygroup.com [66.201.124.152] by e-government.com

         If you're domain name and mailserver IP address appears as the
sending domain and IP address you have a serious problem since you
either have an open mail relay or your system has been hacked.

         Send me a private message and I'll tell you if you are currently
blacklisted by any of the popular blacklisting companies.

Urb urb_at_e-government.com






Received on Tue Oct 25 2005 - 09:55:50 CDT


HOW TO JOIN THE ONLINE ADVERTISING DISCUSSION LIST

With an archive of more than 14,000 postings, since 1996 the Online Advertising Discussion List has been the Internet's leading forum focused on professional discussion of online advertising and online media buying and selling strategies, results, studies, tools, and media coverage. If you wish to join the discussion list, please use this link to sign up on the home page of the Online Advertising Discussion List.

 


Online Advertising Industry Leaders:

Clicksor
List and Found
AdJungle
The Laredo Group

Add your company...

Laredo Group Interactive Advertising Training
AdJungle
List and Found
Clicksor
 



 


 
Online Advertising Discussion List Archives: 2003 - Present
Online Advertising Discussion List Archives: 2001 - 2002
Online Advertising Discussion List Archives: 1999 - 2000
Online Advertising Discussion List Archives: 1996 - 1998

Online Advertising Home | Guidelines | Conferences | Testimonials | Contact Us | Sponsorship | Resources
Site Access and Use Policy | Privacy Policy

 
2323 Clear Lake City Blvd., Suite 180-139, Houston, TX 77062-8120
Phone: 281-480-6300
 
Copyright 1996-2007 The Online Advertising Discussion List, a division of ADASTRO Incorporated.
All Rights Reserved.

Visit our other web sites:
Tennis Server | Tennis Server Ticket Exchange | MyCityRocks | MyCityRocks Ticket Exchange