Google
 

Re: Hijacked domain

From: Josh Carlson <jcarlson_at_insurancejournal.com>
Date: Wed 26 Oct 2005 11:29:56 -0500

Bill Rice <bill_at_familycookbookproject.com> wrote:

> I'm hoping that someone can help me. Some Spammer is using my domain as
> the return address for sending dictionary style broadcasts of email. I
> am worried that the domain will be blacklisted and I will not be able to
> have my legitimate emails go through.
> Does anyone know how to stop this and how to make sure the domain is not
> blacklisted?

Anyone can spoof an email's From: address, you can't stop this. Most
systems will use other are ways to determine the email's true origin.

If you run your own mailserver then you might want to have a security
checkup. Also make sure you are not an open relay, which is unlikely.
http://www.spamhelp.org/shopenrelay/

http://www.dnsstuff.com/ has some great tools including their "Spam
database lookup".

Josh Carlson




Received on Wed Oct 26 2005 - 11:29:56 CDT


HOW TO JOIN THE ONLINE ADVERTISING DISCUSSION LIST

With an archive of more than 14,000 postings, since 1996 the Online Advertising Discussion List has been the Internet's leading forum focused on professional discussion of online advertising and online media buying and selling strategies, results, studies, tools, and media coverage. If you wish to join the discussion list, please use this link to sign up on the home page of the Online Advertising Discussion List.

 


Online Advertising Industry Leaders:

Local SEO with Video
Houston SEO
Houston Web Design

Add your company...

Local SEO with Video
 



 


 
Online Advertising Discussion List Archives: 2003 - Present
Online Advertising Discussion List Archives: 2001 - 2002
Online Advertising Discussion List Archives: 1999 - 2000
Online Advertising Discussion List Archives: 1996 - 1998

Online Advertising Home | Guidelines | Conferences | Testimonials | Contact Us | Sponsorship | Resources
Site Access and Use Policy | Privacy Policy

 
2323 Clear Lake City Blvd., Suite 180-139, Houston, TX 77062-8120
Phone: 281-480-6300
 
Copyright 1996-2007 The Online Advertising Discussion List, a division of ADASTRO Incorporated.
All Rights Reserved.